The world’s biggest election exercise has just been kicked off with the Election Commission of India issuing detailed schedule for voting across close to 1 million centres in the country. The elections to the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Indian parliament, will begin on April 7 and end on May 12, with counting scheduled for May 16.

The election results are expected to be announced on the counting day itself, almost one month ahead of one of the biggest global sporting events, the soccer world cup.

Here’s a ready reckoner of the polling dates on various states and union territories besides some key cities in the country, for you to plan out your travel and business engagements.

Delhi will vote on April 10th, Bangalore on 17th, Mumbai and Chennai on 24th, Hyderabad on April 30th while Kolkata goes to polls on May 12th.

Leave Your Comment(s)