The third edition of  VCCircle Awards, which will recognise and celebrate the impact of private equity and venture capital on Indian businesses, will be held on the evening of February 19, 2014, at Trident Nariman Point in Mumbai.

The initiative, which is held annually, picks outstanding private equity funded Indian companies which have not only reported tremendous growth in their respective industries but also created a long-standing impact on the economy and the industry in general. The awards will also recognise the best intermediaries—law firms and investment banks— that have facilitated such investments.

Last date for sending in nominations is December 12, 2013. Click here for the online application form.

The awards ceremony will be held along with VCCircle’s flagship annual event VCCircle India Limited Partners Summit 2014 (to be held on February 19 and 20 at the same venue), which will see a gathering of top global and Indian limited partners, private equity investors and some of the most successful entrepreneurs.

Best Portfolio Companies

This year, VCCircle Awards will pick two companies in each sector, namely Emerging & Mid/Mature Market, which have raised at least one round of funding since January 1, 2008. The sector categories are:

1.       Best PE/VC-backed Consumer Products/Services Company

2.       Best PE/VC-backed Financial Services Company

3.       Best PE/VC-backed Healthcare Company

4.       Best PE/VC-backed Infrastructure Company

5.       Best PE/VC-backed Manufacturing Company

6.       Best PE/VC-backed IT Company

7.       Best PE/VC-backed Education Company

8.       Best PE/VC-backed Media & Communication Company

9.       Best PE/VC-backed Cleantech Company

10.   Best PE/VC-backed Consumer Internet Company

The companies can nominate themselves or be nominated by their PE/VC investor. Click here for the online application form. For any query, contact Komal Shah at 022-61214000 or

Best Intermediaries (Law Firms & Investment Banks)

The awards will also recognise the best law firms and investment banks which have facilitated such investments most.

1.       Investment Bank of the Year (Bulge bracket)

2.       Investment Bank of the Year (Mid-market)

3.       Law Firm of the Year (Bulge bracket)

4.       Law Firm of the Year (Mid-market)

The time frame for awards for investment banks and law firms categories will be October 2012 till September 2013. Click here for the online application form. For any query, contact Komal Shah at 022-61214000 or


All nominations received by December 12, 2013, will be collated based on the award category they belong to. Please ensure the nomination form is complete and accurate in all respects, failing which the nomination will be rejected.

Nominations in each category would then be put through an elementary screening to arrive at the top contenders, which will then be evaluated on the basis of percentage growth in revenue, market share and the impact on the industry.

Shortlisted nominations will then be scrutinised for performance on a metric pegging the nominee’s performance against industry-specific benchmarks and that of its peers. Financial performance will be judged on a variety of parameters, including growth in revenue and profitability and their sustainability, and the return generated on the investment. Besides financial performance, companies will be assessed on certain qualitative aspects, including market traction and brand value, existing and estimated market share, disruptive and innovative models and products impacting the industry and leading to its expansion, and the impact on economy in general.

The qualifying five nominations (and their detailed information dockets) in each category would be shared with the jury members ahead of the jury meet. The jury would meet on the scheduled day to debate and decide on the winners in each category.

The winners will be selected by an expert jury, with assistance from VCCircle and VCCedge team. The jury, to be announced soon, will comprise industry veterans, academicians and top consultants.

Click here to see last years’ winners.

For nominations: Click here for the online application form. For any query, contact Komal Shah at 022-61214000 or

Participation at awards ceremony: By invitation only (for more details, write to or call Kanika on 0120-4171111).

Leave Your Comment(s)