Multiples PE, SAIF Partners, RBL Bank among winners of VCCircle Awards

Private equity firm Multiples Alternate Asset Management Pvt Ltd, venture capital firm SAIF Partners and private-sector lender RBL Bank have emerged among the winners of VCCircle Awards 2017 declared on Wednesday in Mumbai.

Digital healthcare platform Practo, ed-tech firm Simplilearn and diagnostics chain Thyrocare were also among the winners at the sixth edition of VCCircle Annual Awards, which recognise the best-performing private equity or venture capital-backed companies and transaction advisers.

The award function was part of the News Corp VCCircle Limited Partners Summit 2017, being held at Taj Lands End, Mumbai, and was attended by top entrepreneurs, CEOs, fund managers and other industry stalwarts.

The awards are given to the most outstanding companies that not only record tremendous growth but also have a long-standing impact on their respective industries and the economy in general. The awards also recognise PE and VC fundraisers, as also exit of the year for PE or VC firms based on returns.

The best intermediaries—investment banks and law firms—are honoured, too. EY won the award for the investment bank of the year while AZB & Partners triumphed among law firms.

This year, a six-member jury of industry veterans and long-time watchers of businesses judged the winners after evaluating them on a variety of qualitative and quantitative parameters such as financial performance, growth, brand salience, management quality and return on capital employed.

The jury was chaired by Arun Duggal, chairman at ratings firm ICRA. The other members were Anjali Bansal, senior adviser at TPG; Ireena Vittal, an expert on Indian agriculture and urban change; Padmanabh (Paddy) Sinha, managing partner at Tata Opportunities Fund; TV Mohandas Pai, chairman at Aarin Capital and former CFO at Infosys Ltd; and Uday Shankar, CEO at Star India.

Here is the list of winners:

Consumer Internet Company of the Year

Winner: Practo Technologies Pvt. Ltd

Education Company of the Year

Winner: Simplilearn Solutions Pvt. Ltd

Financial Services Company of the Year

Winner: RBL Bank Ltd

Healthcare Company of the Year

Winner: Thyrocare Technologies Ltd

Infrastructure Company of the Year

Winner: ReNew Power Ventures Pvt. Ltd

Consumer Company of the Year

Winner: Suminter India Organics Pvt. Ltd

Investment Bank of the Year

Winner: Ernst and Young Pvt. Ltd

Law Firm of the Year

Winner: AZB & Partners

Exit of the Year

Winner: MakeMyTrip Ltd—SAIF Partners

Best Fundraiser - Private Equity

Winner: Multiples Private Equity Fund II LLP

Best Fundraiser - Venture Capital

Winner: Blume Ventures India Fund II

Active Impact Investor of the year

Winner: Aavishkaar Venture Management Services Pvt. Ltd

Like this report? Sign up for our daily newsletter to get our top reports.

Leave Your Comment(s)