NR Narayana Murthy to chair SEBI’s startup, alternative investment panel
Photo Credit: N R Narayana Murthy

Capital markets regulator Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) has named a 18-member committee to deliberate on issues related to the further development of the alternative investment and startup ecosystem in India. The committee would also suggest on issues which need to be taken up with other regulators for development of the alternative investment industry.

The Alternative Investment Policy Advisory Committee (AIPAC) will be chaired by Infosys co-founder NR Narayana Murthy, it has said.

VCCircle had first reported this on May 7.

AIPAC's members include people from private equity and VC firms, startups, senior officials of SEBI, RBI and the finance ministry.

The prominent names of the PE industry who form part of the committee include Sanjay Nayar (member and CEO of private equity major KKR India), Devinjit Singh (managing director of Carlyle Group, handling large growth capital and buyout opportunities in India), Raja Kumar (founder and CEO of home-grown PE firm Ascent Capital), Manish Chokhani (senior advisor and chairman of TPG Growth India) and Gopal Srinivasan (chairman & MD of TVS Capital).

Then there are heavyweights of financial services industry: Ajay Piramal (chairman of Piramal Group, which runs PE and infrastructure investments business) and Sunil Godhwani (chairman and managing director of Religare Enterprises).

The committee also comprises active angel and venture capital investors Saurabh Srivastava (co-founder Indian Angel Network), Sudhir Sethi (founder, chairman and managing director of IDG Ventures India) and Akshay Mansukhani (partner of Malabar Investments and member Mumbai Angels).

Others from the early stage investment and startup industry include Mani Iyer (director of Incube Ventures) and Abid Hassan (COO MobMe).

Another member is Gautam Mehra, partner & leader for financial services, tax & asset management at PwC.

It also comprises Nikhil Varma, deputy secretary, Ministry of Finance, N S Vishwanathan, executive director of RBI besidesAnanta Barua (executive director) and Barnali Mukherjee (general manager) from SEBI.

Leave Your Comment(s)