Narendra Modi appointed as new Prime Minister, to be sworn in on May 26

BJP leader Narendra Modi, who was unanimously elected as the leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party on Tuesday, met the President Pranab Mukherjee in the afternoon who appointed him as the new Prime Minister of India. He is now to be sworn in on Monday, May 26.

Modi, till recently Gujarat’s chief minister, has vacated the state chief’s role to a party colleague as he moves on to take the role of the country’s premier after the landslide victory in the just concluded general elections.

A Rashtrapati Bhawan statement said: “As Shri Narendra Modi has been elected leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party and BJP has the majority support in the House of the People, the President appointed Shri Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India and requested him to advise the names of others to be appointed Members of the Council of Ministers.”

The President will administer the oath of office and secrecy on May 26, 2014 at 6 PM at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

This was hours after he was elected leader of the BJP parliamentary party and also the leader of the BJP-led coalition National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

A delegation of 15 members of NDA led by BJP president Rajnath Singh, met the President in the afternoon on Tuesday. The other members of the delegation included Lal Krishna Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi, Sushma Swaraj, Venkaiah Naidu, Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari, Ananth Kumar, Thavar Chand Gehlot, Prakash Singh Badal, Chandra Babu Naidu, Uddhav Thakrey, Ram Vilas Paswan, Neiphu Rio and Sukhbir Singh Badal.

Narendra Modi, leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party, followed the delegation and personally met the President on Tuesday.

(Edited by Joby Puthuparampil Johnson)

Leave Your Comment(s)