The central government has reconstituted six cabinet committees, including the Cabinet Committee of Economic Affairs (CCEA) that will be headed by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself, according to an official statement.

Of the six committees, two will be headed by the Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh while the remaining four will be headed by the prime minister.

The CCEA will have 11 members, including Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, urban development minister M Venkaiah Naidu and transport minister Nitin Gadkari, Railways Minister

DV Sadananda Gowda, Communications and IT Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju, Food Processing Industries Minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh and the PM himself.

Apart from CCEA, the PM will head Cabinet Committee on Security, Cabinet Committee on Appointments and Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs.

While Cabinet Committee on Security will include Jaitley, Swaraj and Singh as members, among others, the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs (CCPA) will have members including Ram Vilas Paswan (LJP), Harsimrat Kaur (SAD) and Anant Geete (Shiv Sena), etc.

On the other side, Rajnath Singh will head the Cabinet Committee on Accommodation and Parliamentary Affairs. While Cabinet Committee on Accommodation will include members like Nitin Jairam Gadkari, Jaitley, Swaraj and M Venkaiah Naidu, among others; Committee on Parliamentary Affairs will have Jaitley, Swaraj and M Venkaiah Naidu, Najma A Heptulla, Ravi Shankar Prasad and Ram Vilas Paswan, among others.

Earlier this month, the PM had disbanded the Cabinet Committee on Prices, World Trade Matters and UIDAI and brought their functions under the CCEA. The Modi government also scrapped the Cabinet Committee on Management of Natural Calamities.

The functions of the Cabinet Committee on Management of Natural Calamities will be handled by the committee under the cabinet secretary whenever natural calamities occur.

(Edited by Joby Puthuparampil Johnson)

Leave Your Comment(s)