Govt appoints former CBDT chairman KV Chowdary as CVC

KV Chowdary, former chairman of Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) and TM Bhasin, chairman and MD of Indian Bank, have been appointed chief vigilance commissioner (CVC) and vigilance commissioner (VC) at Central Vigilance Commission, respectively.

Both the appointments are for four years or till they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

Meanwhile, Vijai Sharma, currently the senior most information commissioner, has been appointed chief information commissioner.

Currently Rajiv, a 1975 batch IPS officer, is the only vigilance commissioner in Central Vigilance Commission.

Chowdary, a 1978-batch officer of the income tax cadre, had earlier served as director general of I-T, investigations, in Delhi where he headed several high-profile tax probes including 2G spectrum allocation. He also solved a number of cases dealing with black money and tax evasion.

Chowdary has become the first non-IAS officer to lead the Central Vigilance Commission.

Bhasin, who has over three decades of experience, was executive director, United Bank of India (UBI) before joining Indian Bank. He started his banking career in 1978 at Oriental Bank of Commerce. 

A Harvard University alumnus, Bhasin did MBA (Finance) and LLB from University of Delhi. 

There was no CVC at Central Vigilance Commission for almost a year. Pradeep Kumar and JM Garg retired from their post as central vigilance commissioner and vigilance commissioner on September 28 and September 7, 2014, respectively. 

Sharma, a 1974 batch IAS officer in Uttar Pradesh cadre, has been working as an information commissioner at the Central Information Commission since 2012. 

Leave Your Comment(s)