CBDT chairperson will no longer head tax investigations

In a reshuffle of charge among Members, CBDT Chairperson Anita Kapur divested herself of the additional charge of investigations and gave it to another Member in the board.

A latest order issued by the Central Board of Direct Taxes, the apex policy making body the Income Tax department, said the charge of investigations will be held by Member Surabhi Sinha while newly-appointed Member S K Ray has been entrusted with the charge of Audit and Judicial.

Kapur has been handling the additional charge of Member I-T investigations since she took over as the CBDT Chairperson in November last year.

The other members of the seven-member body are A K Jain (Personnel and Vigilance), Atulesh Jindal (Revenue), S M Nigam (Income Tax) and Rani S Nair (Legislation and Computerisation).

The CBDT Member post is equivalent to a Special Secretary rank status in the government and the panel is responsible for framing policy and administrative issues related to direct taxes and the Income Tax department.

Leave Your Comment(s)