The Government of India announced the Padma awards, which is the highest civilian honour bestowed by the government every year on eminent personalities from all walks of life such as social work, sports, film, politics, academics, science, business, art and culture. 

President Pratibha Patil approved the conferment of 128 Padma Awards 2010 including one duo case (counted as one) and 12 in the category of foreigners/ NRIs/ PIOs/ posthumous. These comprise 13 Padma Vibhushan, 31 Padma Bhushan and 84 Padma Shri awards. 

The highest among them is Padma Vibhushan, followed by Padma Bhushan and then Padma Shri.

Here are those from the business and economy who won the awards.

Azim Premji, Chairman, Wipro - Padma Vibhushan

Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission - Padma Vibhushan

Yogi Deveshwar, CEO, ITC Ltd - Padma Bhushan

Chanda Kochar, CEO, ICICI Bank - Padma Bhushan

Kris Gopalakrishnan, CEO, Infosys Technologies - Padma Bhushan

K. Anji Reddy, Chairman, Reddy labs - Padma Bhushan

Analjit Singh, Max India - Padma Bhushan - Padma Bhushan

Rajendra Singh Pawar, Chairman, NIIT - Padma Bhushan

Dr. Gunapati Venkata Krishna Reddy, GVK Group - Padma Bhushan

Ajai Chowdhary, CEO, HCL Infosystems - Padma Bhushan

Mecca Rafeeque Ahmed, Fareeda Group- Padma Shri

K Raghavendra Rao, MD, Orchid Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals Ltd - Padma Shri

Leave Your Comment(s)