Rajya Sabha names 10 members to join panel on land bill

Rajya Sabha today named 10 members, including Digvijaya Singh of Congress and TMC's Derek O'Brien, to the Joint Committee that will look into the controversial Land Acquisition Bill.

The 30-member Joint Committee of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha would submit its report on the first day of Monsoon Session on the bill which has already been passed by the Lower House.

The other Rajya Sabha members in the committee are: Ram Narain Dudi (BJP), Jairam Ramesh (Cong), P L Punia (Cong), Ram Gopal Yadav (SP), Sharad Yadav (JD-U), Sharad Pawar (NCP) and Rajpal Singh Saini (BSP). 

The members of the Lok Sabha who are on the joint panel include K V Thomas, Rajiv Satav (both Congress), Anand Rao Adsul (Shiv Sena), Kalyan Banerjee ( Trinamool Congress), B Mahtab (BJD), Mohammad Salim (CPI-M), Chirag Paswan (LJP) and S S Ahluwalia, Udit Raj, Anurag Thakur and Ganesh Singh (all BJP).

Yesterday, the government, which had promulgated ordinance twice on the bill since December last after it faced similar resistance earlier, had agreed to refer it to the committee after NDA allies Shiv Sena and Akali Dal joined the Opposition in Lok Sabha to oppose the measure.

Leave Your Comment(s)