Vyome Biosciences Pvt Ltd, a Delhi-based biopharmaceuticals company focused on dermatology, has managed to get a winning board on its side. The company has expanded its board of directors to include prominent scientist Dr. R A Mashelkar, former banker Ranjana Kumar and management consultant Suvojoy Sengupta. Vyome had recently received funding from Kolkata based venture capital fund Navam Capital.

“We are building Vyome as India’s leading innovation-driven venture, and their considerable expertise in research, product development, corporate governance and business management will help us achieve our goal,” said  Dr Shiladitya Sengupta, co-founder of Vyome.

Mashelkar is former director-general of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR). During his time, the premier scientific body had built very strong partnership with the industry and had cultivated a culture of commercialisation and intellectual property development. Mashelkar is also on the board of Tata Motors Ltd, Reliance Industries Ltd, Hindustan Unilever Ltd, and Thermax Ltd. He is also the chairman of the National Innovation Foundation. 

Ranjana Kumar is a banking veteran joining the industry in 1966. She served most recently as chairperson of the National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (Nabard). Prior to that, she was chairperson of Indian Bank and Canara Bank. In 2005, she was appointed India’s Vigilance Commissioner in the Central Vigilance Commission.

Suvojoy Sengupta is partner at Booz & Co., a leading management consulting firm, and heads the firm’s India practice. Sengupta has worked with major companies in the global pharmaceuticals, energy and manufacturing industries, besides working with government and public institutions in Europe and the Middle East. He is a graduate of IIT Delhi and IIM Ahmedabad.

Vyome, founded in August 2010, is a biopharmaceutical solutions firm looking to leverage "next-generation functional genomics platforms, medicinal and polymer chemistry and nanotechnology" for dermatological diseases. Its founders include Shiladitya Sengupta, Rajesh Gokhale and Rajeev Mantri.

Leave Your Comment(s)